Blue Boy and Beany

Two moms, twins and autism.

It’s been a while…..

I didn’t mean to stop blogging, but life happens.  At first I was conflicted.  I wanted to write a really good post for April, which was Autism Awareness Month.  You see, there are two overarching, highly generalized camps among autism parents.  On one side are the folks that are trying to “fix” their children and take away their autism and on the other side are those that accept their children for who and how they are, focusing on supports instead of cures.  There is a movement afoot that says there is enough Awareness…it’s time to move on to Acceptance.  I wanted to equate being born autistic with being born gay…would I take it away if I could?  Would that fundamentally change the person I am? Would Blue Boy still be Blue Boy if he wasn’t autistic? I had all these ideas and conflicted thoughts and never got anything down in black and white.

That was April.  Then came May…it was a whopper.  We had IEP meetings, birthdays, more assessments, and another diagnosis.  Oh, and I have been laid off in all but name and Blue Boy is at an all time low on the behavior scale…slapping and throwing things with wild abandon.  I have had plenty of material to blog about.  But, truth be told, I have been too depressed and struggling to stay afloat to have anything left over to spend on writing.  I think I may be surfacing though, so I thought I’d clear the air so I can feel free to move forward.  Writing helps…I just have to have a toe hold to start from.

2 Comments

  1. Angela

    May was surely a big month for you guys! I hope the rest of the summer brings you some more calmness and predictability! I’ve found much solace in writing my way through stressful times. I hope you can find the time to do the same. Will look forward to your next post!

  2. Papa Mark

    You guys certainly put on up good front for Pat and me. I thought my song “Put on a Happy Face” was for the kids, but were the ones who were doing it. especially at the birthday party. Pat and I had a wonderful time and loved every minute with Beany and Blue Boy. Blue Boy’s hugs were a treasure, since I know it took some courage for him to do it.

Leave a Reply

Emma's Hope Book

Living Being Autistic

Mama Be Good

Two moms, twins and autism.

Three Flew Over the Cuckoo's nest

Just Trying To Overcome Dysfunction, Functionally

gareeth

Have been called a "Tragic misplacement of intelligence!"

Fumbling Thru Autism

One mom, one little girl, fumbling through autism

Extreme Parenthood

Two moms, twins and autism.

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

The Third Glance

A peek into my (Autistic) mind

Of Moms and Monsters

A glimpse into the life of autism, and the adventure it brings to a mom.

Coffee With A Side Of Autism

Home, Life, Autism... all fueled by caffeine

Two moms, twins and autism.

Yeah. Good Times.

Two moms, twins and autism.

Living on the Spectrum: The Connor Chronicles

Our family's adventures in the world of ADHD and Autism.

